Thursday, August 28, 2008

Miracle split pair with Tigers

Fort Myers Miracle

Lakeland 1 at Fort Myers 0

W: R. Porcello (8-6, 2.66); L: S. Steedley (1-4, 6.59); SV: J. Sborz (7)
HR: None.

Wilson Ramos Rick Porcello pitched a brilliant game Wednesday evening, limiting the Fort Myers Miracle to 3 hits in route to handing them their 10th shut out of the season.

Porcello would not allow a hit until the bottom of the 4th when Juan Portes singled off of him. Rene Tosoni would ground into a force out and Wilson Ramos claimed a single as well. But Porcello induced Johnny Woodard to hit into a double play, ending the inning.

The Miracle's best scoring chance came in the bottom of the fifth, when Edward Ovalle doubled and advanced to 3rd on a fielding error by Brandon Timm. With no outs on the board it looked to be an almost certain run, but Eli Tintor ground out down the 3rd base line, keeping Ovalle pinned for the first out. Danny Santiesteban drew a walk, which allowed Porcello to get Garrett Olson to ground into a double play, leaving Ovalle stranded.

Spencer Steedley took the start for the Miracle. Jeramy Laster singled off him in the top of the 3rd, then moved to 2nd on Timm's sac-bunt. Jeff Kunkel doubled him in for the lone Lakeland Flying Tigers run. Steedley would get Justin Justice to fly out before being replaced on the mound by David Shinskie, who worked the next 2.1 innings.

Steedley would strike out one during his 2.2 innings on the mound. Shinskie would give up one hit and one walk, while fanning one during his tenure. He'd give way to Jose Lugo for the next two, Lugo giving up 3 hits and striking out one.

Porcello worked six innings, fanning four. Jay Sborz walked Ramos to start out the bottom of the seventh, but took Woodard and Ovalle out on strikes. Whit Robbins would single, moving Ramos to 3rd, but Steve Singleton ground out, ending the contest.

There'd be a brief flurry of activity as the field was groomed and the fans patronized the concession stands before game two got underway.


Lakeland 2 at Fort Myers 8

W: M. Williams (2-2, 3.67); L: D. Witt (3-4, 3.58)
HR: None.

Rene Tosoni Having been blanked in the first game, the Fort Myers Miracle had to do something to remind their fans that they were indeed a playoff bound team.

Steve Singleton knocked a grounder to center to lead off the bottom of the first and Edward Ovalle followed that up with a grounder ball to left. Whit Robbins doubled, plating the pair. Wilson Ramos' single scored Robbins, and Johnny Woodard's double put Ramos over the plate. Eli Tintor would go down on strikes before Danny Lehmann's line drive to right moved Woody to 3rd. Yancarlos Ortiz would ground into a force out that allowed Woody to come home before Garrett Olson popped out, ending the inning.

While I was talking to some of the younger prospects down at Gulf Coast League Sunday, I mentioned that I through Matt Williams would make a fairly descent starter. The rookies seemed to think this was a recipe for disaster, but the Professor didn't let me down, going five innings for the Miracle.

Jordan Lennerton doubled off Williams and Louis Ott took a walk. Brandon Timm would fly out to center before Jeramy Laster's sac-fly scored Lennerton. It was the only run Williams would allow. He'd allow 2 more hits while striking out five to end his term on the mound.

Blair Erickson replaced him the top of the sixth. Justin Justice drew a walk off the California native. Erickson would then unleash a wild pitch that moved Justice to 2nd. Cale Iorg's single put the Lakeland outfielder on 3rd. Michael Bertram would be hit by a pitch and Jordan Lennerton would go down on strikes before Louis Ott's ground out put Justice over the plate for the second Tiger's run.

Derek Witt worked the first three for the Flying Tigers before being replaced in the 4th by Ramon Garcia. Yancarlos Ortiz claimed a triple off the new hurler. Garrett Olson would pop out before Singleton doubled him in. Ovalle then tripled off his fellow Dominican as well, driving in Sing. Robbin's sacrifice put Ovalle over the plate for the 8th Miracle run.

The 18 game series between the two teams concludes tomorrow on the final Thirsty Thursday of the season. Cole Devries (9-9, 2.97) is expected to take the start for the Miracle, while the Tigers are expected to dish up a bit of Alfredo Figaro (9-4, 4.26). The game will feature Midget Wrestling, for those who are not into baseball.

News Press
News Press: Attendance
NDN: Attendance
Take I-75 North

The Florida State League announced today that Fort Myers Miracle pitcher Anthony Slama, catcher Wilson Ramos and manager Jeff Smith have been selected to the 2008 All-FSL Team. The team features the League's best players at every position. The prestigious team is selected annually by vote of the FSL's Managers, Official Scorers and Club Sports Writers representing the 12 teams in the League. Five Dunedin players were named to the post-season squad. Jupiter's Logan Morrison was named most valuable player, while St. Lucie's Dylan Owen was named most valuable pitcher (FSL/MiLB).

The New Britain Rock Cats shut out the Portland Sea Dogs 2-0 at Hadlock Field. Former Miracle Kyle Aselton claimed his seventh win of the season, while Jose Mijares recorded his 2nd AA save (Sea Dogs).

The Triple-A Rochester Red Wings defeated the Syracuse Chiefs 4-2 at Frontier Field. Alejandro Machado, Howie Clark and former Miracle Trevor Plouffe were all 2-for-4 for the Red Wings, who are now 71-69 on the season, in third place in the North Division, although they are shut out of post season play (RD&C).

The Beloit Snappers clobbered the Kane County Cougars, 10-1 at Pohlman Field. Former Miracle Allan de San Miguel was 3-for-4 on the night with a pair of doubles, 3 runs and 2 RBIs. Juan Richardson, who will be attending Fall Instructional League was 3-for-3 with a walk, a double and 4 runs. Henry Reyes claimed the win ()Snappers).

Game one of the Appalachian League Championship series between the Pulaski Mariners and the Elizabethton Twins was postponed due to rain. The Twins host games on Friday and Saturday night, at 7:00 PM, weather permitting.

No comments: